Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Mr. Fred gets his act together

Outtake from Tales Told Out Of School

Dangit. Retry. It’s boring to regale people with technical snafus, but I’ll just apologize: I am redoing this post. That’s why you’re getting it again. I’m as good an editor as I am a gardener, which is to say, garbage. Gardens love garbage, but I cannot do with words out-of-sync, the fermentation and crawly beetles. No. So here goes again.

When I call this an outtake, I mean it’s extra; it’s disjointed and crooked; it’s not making it into the novel, Tales Told Out Of School. It was an overflow, one of a few outtakes that won’t make it. But it’s just so chock-full of borrowed reveries that I didn’t want to leave it on the slush pile. I wanted it recorded somewhere.

It concerns Fred Altan and Tom O’Shea, usual guys, longtime friends, but it just doesn’t fit the trajectory, I guess. It’s soo extra. Haha.

On this day, O’Shea visits Fred at school, and Fred has just received his first disciplinary letter in his career because a kindergarten boy has escaped and run out the door to the street too many times for his boss’s toleration. Fred does not gauge the seriousness of her concern accurately. You would be correct to assume that this is the first of many troubles Fred will get into.

I liked these little dramas in class. They all are absolutely “true” and sprang straight, fully deformed, from my imagination.

Hope you like it!

Sorry I’ve been lax. Death sucks the vim and vigor out of you. I’ve been busy writing the end of the book amidst grieving the loss of our workshop teacher, and have been feeling quite a bit displaced and marooned by it all.

You guys are great!

Love to all! Lots more to come. Thank you for reading and listening.

Your faithful Hotspvrre

0 Comments
Hotspvrre
Hotspvrre
Authors
Theodore Olson