Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

21. Curt Jamison, security guard

Tales told out of school

Dear youse,

How are you? Are you reading and watching tons of content? Is it any good? I’m so grateful for you being my subscribers, willing to receive these emails and take a peek at my work. I like meaningful connection, and wish I could read it live.

This klunky format of video read-alouds lends itself as well as I can imagine to digital storytelling. This one is modeled after some film aficionado sites with scrolling text, but alas .. I have no computer. My fritzy old iPad is trash now, so I’ve done the last few sketches on my miniature iPhone.

This story, Curt Jamison, is one of the first I ever wrote in my rebirth to fiction in 2014. Back then I was trying to capture a slew of job stories from life in waitering, detox, truck driving, sales, dishwashing, finance, janitorial, and so on. I didn’t know I had such strong feelings about my career in public schools, but I thought, if I’m writing a Google blog about American work-life, “I’m in schools now!” so, schools. This story is pulled from vapors, from the pressure of trying to protect a person, crashing into the universal theme of “no good deed goes unpunished.”

I appreciate you listening! Please share it around if you feel like it.

Bold Teddy Quill

0 Comments
Hotspvrre
Hotspvrre
Authors
Theodore Olson